Belgian First Division A

Belgian First Division A

Belgian First Division A on tv and stream

The Belgian First Division A, also known as Belgian Pro League or 1A Pro League, but officially Jupiler Pro League because of sponsorship reasons with AB InBev's brewer Jupiler since the 2015–16 season, is the top-tier competition for association professional football clubs in Belgium.

Participated by 18 clubs since the 2020–21 season, it operates on a structure of promotion and relegation with the Belgian First Division B. The competition seasons run from early August to late April. Each team plays 34 matches in the regular season and then plays playoffs I or playoffs II according to their rank in the regular season.

No matches found!

History of Belgian First Division A

The first professional league in Belgian football was held in 1895–96 as a round-robin competition with seven teams. The football association started a new format with two leagues at the top level and a final game in two legs in 1898–99 and 1899–1900. Since the 1906 season, a system circle of promotion and relegation was introduced, with the winner of the second division replacing the last-place team of the first division.

Belgian clubs became successful in the decade of 1980. Standard reached the 1981-82 European Cup Winners' Cup final, Anderlecht won the 1982-83 UEFA Cup and lost the following UEFA Cup final, and KV Mechelen won the 1987-88 European Cup Winners' Cup. In the decade of 1990, Belgium's club's performances were reduced in European competitions, with only RSC Anderlecht and Royal Antwerp FC reaching the European Cup Winners' Cup final, respectively in 1989–90 and 1992–93.

The 2009-10 season started with a new format and name to the Belgian Pro League 2009-10, their 30th Belgian championship competition.

Competition Format of Belgian First Division A

Each of the 18 teams hosts every other team once in the regular season, for 34 matches between August and April. Each team earns three points for a victory, and a draw provides one point and no point added for losing.

Teams are ranked by total earning points, then by total wins, and finally by goal difference, goal-scoring, number of away goals, and number of away success. If multiple teams are still level, a test match is played in two legs to find the final order in the standings. A playoff phase is then started in May.

The point system in the championship level playoff is the same as the regular season; without that, each team goes about with half of the points they earned in the regular season, rounded up to the nearest integer number. The points achieved by rounding are subtracted in the case of a tie.

The top-ranked four teams from the regular season can enter the championship playoff, with the first-place team winning the Belgium professional football league championship. Each team plays their opponents two-time, and points rank the teams, points from rounding, wins, etc., as in the regular season.

Champions and Performances by Club in Belgian First Division A

Though RFC Liège won the first Belgian championship, Anderlecht is the most successful Belgian club winning the major title of Belgium 31 times. A total of 16 teams won the championship.

Besides of Anderlecht, Club Brugge (17), Union SG (11), Standard Liège (10), K Beerschot VAC (7), Racing de Bruxelles (6), RFC Liège (5), Daring de Bruxelles (5), Antwerp (4), KV Mechelen (4), Genk (4), Lierse (4), Cercle Brugge (3), KSK Beveren (2), Gent (1), and RWD Molenbeek (1) has won the competition.

Noteworthy Stats of Belgian First Division A

Albert De Cleyn is the all-time top goalscorer in the Belgian First Division with 377 goals, followed by Joseph Mermans (339 goals).

Watch Belgian First Division A on TV and Stream

The Belgian First Division A fans want to enjoy all live matches with exclusive media coverage on TV and stream because of not being able to go to the stadium.

How to Watch Belgian First Division A on TV?

Eleven Sports and the Pro League have agreed on the new domestic and international media contract for the coming five years. As an exclusive global rights holder, Eleven Sports will air the rights of all Pro League competitions for the next five seasons from 2020 to 2025.

You can watch Belgian First Division A on ESPN in the United States, Australia, Puerto Rico, Latin America, New Zealand and the Caribbean, and Arena Sports in the Balkans.

Eleven Sports broadcast live coverage of Belgian First Division A in Denmark, France, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

OneFootball presents the show in Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, and Slovakia.

How to Watch Belgian First Division A on Stream Online?

With the paid and some free streaming services, Belgian First Division A fans can watch it on the stream online via many popular streaming platforms. You can watch it through Eleven Sports, ESPN, DAZN, Arena Sports, Setanta Sports, OneFootball, Fubo TV, and Sling TV.

Belgian First Division A is now developing day by day with new league formation, and fans and viewers wait to watch more fighting and exciting matches. We hope fans get many factors about the competition, so do not be late, just start watching via TV and stream online.


People Also Search

best live stream belgian first division a football

live stream belgian first division a football

belgian first division a 2nd

belgian first division a europa league

belgian first division a europa league table

belgian first division a fixtures

belgian first division a league table

belgian first division a player of the year

belgian first division a predictions

belgian first division a subscription