• 1 Fri
  • 2 Today
  • 3 Sun
  • 4 Mon
  • 5 Tue
  • 6 Wed
  • 7 Thu
  • 8 Fri
  • 9 Sat
  • 10 Sun
  • 11 Mon
  • 12 Tue
  • 13 Wed
  • 14 Thu

CONCACAF Champions League on tv and stream

CONCACAF Champions League on tv and stream

The CONCACAF Champions League is a continental professional club football competition organized by CONCACAF once within a calendar year. Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League is the official name of this competition due to sponsorship reasons.

The winner club of the CONCACAF Champions League directly qualifies for the quarter-finals of the FIFA Club World Cup competition. The competition has been done 56 times through the 2021 campaign, with 58 champions, due to a three-way shared title in the 1978 season.

History of CONCACAF Champions League

The competition was initially formed as a possible measure to enter the South American Copa Libertadores, a competition organized by CONMEBOL. Before 2008, the league was officially called the "CONCACAF Champions' Cup" but was usually referred to as the "Champions' Cup."

The competition has had several different structures over its lifetime. From 1962 until 1995, the finalists would be decided by teams who qualified via two separate brackets: a Caribbean qualifier and a Northern or Central American qualification competition.

After creating the Major League Soccer competition in the United States, the tournament became a straight knockout competition from 1997 until it was rebuilt into a tournament with a group stage in 2008.

On 23 January 2017, the CONCACAF authority confirmed the new format starting with the 2018 edition, eliminating the group stage, which began after the tournament's re-branding to the CONCACAF Champions League in 2008.

Thirty-one clubs compete in CONCACAF competitions under the new CONCACAF competition platform. Twenty-two teams compete in a new tournament played from August to December, called the CONCACAF League. The CONCACAF League consists of 18 teams from Central America, one team from North America, and three teams from the Caribbean.

The champion teams and the next best five teams advance to the CONCACAF Champions League, contested between February and May of the next campaign's year, joining nine clubs from North America, five clubs from Central America, and one from the Caribbean.

Competition Format of CONCACAF Champions League

The competition employs a 16-team knockout format and is run between February and May. Ten clubs qualify automatically based on domestic performance, along with the champion, runner-up, two unsuccessful semi-finalists, and two well-performed losing quarter-finalists of the CONCACAF League played in the previous calendar year.

Each league round consists of a two-leg home-and-away series with the winner decided by aggregate goals over both legs. If aggregate scores are equal, the away goals rule is followed. If away goals are also equal, the winner is decided by an immediate penalty shoot-out; there are no extra-time periods.

Champions and Performances by Club in CONCACAF Champions League

The league title has been won by 28 clubs, 13 of which have won the competition more than once. Mexican clubs have won the highest number of victories, with 36 titles. Costa Rica's Primera División is the second most successful domestic league having six titles by different clubs.

According to the overall forrmat of the competition, América (7), Cruz Azul (6), Pachuca (5), Monterrey (5), Saprissa (3), UNAM (2), Transvaal (2), Toluca (2), Alajuelense (2), Defence Force (2), Olimpia (2), Guadalajara (2), and Atlante (2) has won the title more than once.

Noteworthy Stats CONCACAF Champions League

Javier Orozco is the top goalscorer in the CONCACAF Champions League era with 24 goals, followed by Darwin Quintero (23 goals) and Oribe Peralta (22 goals). In the 2010-11 season, Javier Orozco scored record 11 goals in a single season of the CONCACAF Champions League era, while he also holds the most hat-trick record, with five hat-tricks.

Watch CONCACAF Champions League on TV and Stream

The CONCACAF Champions League is now available to watch on TV and stream online. We collected and gathered here the list of the television channels and streaming platforms so that you can watch all matches live and enjoy streaming with excitement.

How to Watch CONCACAF Champions League on TV?

Only Fox Sports and Univision have the official rights to broadcast the CONCACAF Champions League live media coverage in the United States in English and Spanish, respectively. Fox Sports also broadcast the competition's match in Mexico.

ESPN has the legal broadcasting rights to air the CONCACAF Champions League in Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras. At the same time, the league broadcast is also available in South America in all languages on ESPN (Star+).

Fans can watch the CONCACAF Champions League on Sportdigital in Austria, Germany, and Switzerland. Spectators can also enjoy it on Flow Sport in the Caribbean, OneFootball in Italy, Televicentro in Honduras, and Concacaf GO in globally.

How to Watch CONCACAF Champions League on Stream Online?

You can watch the CONCACAF Champions League all matches live on stream online via various streaming sites. Through Fox Sports, ESPN, ESPN+, OneSoccer, Fox Sports, Sportdigital, Live Soccer TV, Viacom 18, Fubo TV, and Sling TV.

You will often not be able to access these streaming sites from your current living area due to various restrictions. In that case, you can use VPN to enjoy the CONCACAF Champions League games by accessing the above sites very easily and without any hassle. Reportedly as paid VPN services, Express VPN and Nord VPN provide good services.

After many restructuring and re-branding, the CONCACAF Champions League is now running in perfect format with some of the top clubs from the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, North America, Central America, Canada, and the Caribbean.

Many strong teams play in the CONCACAF Champions League, which provides more fighting and exciting match, and fans and spectators enjoy the complete entertainment of the games.