• 24 Fri
  • 25 Today
  • 26 Sun
  • 27 Mon
  • 28 Tue
  • 29 Wed
  • 30 Thu
  • 1 Fri
  • 2 Sat
  • 3 Sun
  • 4 Mon
  • 5 Tue
  • 6 Wed
  • 7 Thu

Copa Argentina on tv and stream

Copa Argentina on tv and stream

The Copa Argentina is an official football cup competition operated by the Argentine Football Association (AFA), with the target of qualifying one club for the Copa Libertadores. Due to sponsorship reasons, the tournament is now officially called the "Copa Argentina AXION energy."

The championship's first season was contested by clubs playing in Primera División that did not achieve eligibility to participate in the Copa Libertadores of the following year and the leading clubs playing in regional leagues.

28 Jun



Rosario Central vs Quilmes Live!

Copa Argentina


Rosario Central vs Quilmes Live!

Copa Argentina

29 Jun



Aldosivi vs Newell’s Old Boys Live!

Copa Argentina

30 Jun



Gimnasia La Plata vs Flandria Live!

Copa Argentina

History of Copa Argentina

The "Campeonato de la República" or the Copa General Pedro Ramírez had been the first Argentine club competition contested by teams playing not only in Primera División but in domestic leagues as well, with a total of 35 clubs in the first edition. The cup was run from 1943 to 1945.

A new international football competition, "Copa Ganadores de Copa (also known as "Recopa Sudamericana"), operated by CONMEBOL was started in 1970. The Argentine Association got inspiration from the competition to form a new league competition, with the winning team that could play in the 1970 edition of Copa Ganadores de Copa.

The 1969 Copa Argentina was the league's first edition, contested by 32 teams with a two-legged elimination format. Boca Juniors and Atlanta reached the final. Boca Juniors won the tournament's first edition by defeating Atlanta 3–2 on aggregate after two matches were played.

The rescheduling of the competition –officialized in 2011– included 186 professional clubs in seven divisions of the Argentine football league pyramid in a knock-out format. All the matches were held on neutral grounds. The teams of the first division were joined in rounds of 32. The tournament champion directly qualified for the next campaign of Copa Sudamericana.

Competition Format of Copa Argentina

A total of 77 football teams took part in the 11th edition, the current format of the Copa America 2020-21 season. All 24 teams from the Primera División; 14 teams of the Primera Nacional; 6 from the Primera B, 4 from the Primera C; 3 from the Primera D, and 26 teams from Federal A took part in the last edition.

Usually, a regular-season start in January and runs towards December of a calendar year. A two-phase system operates the tournament, one is a regional round, organized by the Consejo Federal, and the other is the Final stage. The final stage is also divided into Round of 64, Round of 32, Round of 16, Quarter-finals, Semi-finals, and Final.

Champions and Performances by Club in Copa Argentina

Boca Juniors is the current titles holder and the most successful club in Copa Argentina, having four titles. With three titles in Copa Argentina, River Plate is the second notable club in this competition. Rosario Central is also a strong team in this tournament, while they won the competition once but played the final three more times.

A total of 13 teams have so far played in the finals of Copa Argentina's 11 editions, of which only five teams have become champions. The other two teams to become champions are Arsenal once in 212-13 and Huracán once in 2013-14. And the rest of the finalists in the Copa Argy are Atlanta, Racing, San Lorenzo, Atlético Tucumán, Gimnasia y Esgrima (LP), Central Córdoba (SdE), and Talleres (C).

Noteworthy Stats Copa Argentina

According to the information, Martín Cauteruccio is the current top goalscorer of Copa Argentina with 13 goals, followed by Ignacio Scocco (11 goals) and Ramón Ábila (11 goals). Daniel Quevedo, Lucas Alario, and Maximiliano Tunessi are such three players who scored the maximum seven goals in a single season in 1969, 2015-16, and 2016-17 respectively.

Watch Copa Argentina on TV and Stream

Enjoying the game on the field is not always possible or easy for spectators from different countries. So below is a list of television channels and streaming sites so that you can enjoy all the Copa Argentina matches at home.

How to Watch Copa Argentina on TV?

ESPN, Televisión Pública, FOX Sports Premium, and TNT Sports provide the Copa Argentina match in Argentina, depending on broadcasting rights and conditions. In Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, the Copa Argentina will be shown by ESPN, Star+, and Fanatiz.

At the same time, ESPN, Star+, and Fanatiz also provide Copa Argentina's media coverage in Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Panama, Honduras, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, and Guatemala. You can watch it through Fanatiz, Paramount+, or TyC Sports in the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, and Mexico.

Sports TV, Sport 1, SSC, beIN Sports, Sportitalia, Footters, Sportdigital, DAZN, and Arena Sports are the international broadcaster of Copa America, which provide live broadcasts in several countries.

How to Watch Copa Argentina on Stream Online?

If you are not able to watch Copa Argentina on TV, then don't be tense because you can watch it via streaming sites on your mobile phone, personal computer, tablet, or laptop. You can watch Copa America through ESPN, Fanatiz, Paramount+, Star+, beIN Sports, Vix, Fox Sports, Arena Sports, PP TV, Sportdigital, Live Soccer TV, Sling TV, and Fubo TV.

For various reasons related to network and restricted net access, you may not be able to access the above websites from all parts of the world. In that case, use a paid proxy server like Super Express or Nord VPN to avoid all these hassles.

After the first two editions of 1979 and 1980, the tournament was closed for the last 40 years due to various reasons. But after solving all the problems, Copa Argentina started in a new form in 2011.

After reforming the tournament in 2011, all Argentine football league system's divisional teams can participate in the championship. The champion of Copa Argentina qualifies for the Supercopa Argentina against the reigning champions of Primera División.