• 28 Tue
  • 29 Today
  • 30 Thu
  • 1 Fri
  • 2 Sat
  • 3 Sun
  • 4 Mon
  • 5 Tue
  • 6 Wed
  • 7 Thu
  • 8 Fri
  • 9 Sat
  • 10 Sun
  • 11 Mon

English Carabao Cup on tv and stream

English Carabao Cup on tv and stream

English Carabao Cup is an annual professional knock-out football tournament and one of the major titles in men's domestic English football. The contest is open to any professional club within the top four divisions of the English football league system.

English Carabao Cup is organized by the English Football League (EFL), and the EFL Cup is the original name of the competition. Still, it is now mostly known as the Carabao Cup due to sponsorship reasons.

History of English Carabao Cup

The tournament was the brainchild of former EFL secretary Alan Hardaker and came from the 'Pattern for Football' document, which proposed a new format for domestic football. Clubs refused Hardaker's suggestion of having five divisions of 20 teams but kept the additional cup contest initially intended to compensate them for playing fewer league matches. The advent of floodlights allows them to play more games in midweek.

The English Carabao Cup was first held in 1960–61 as League Cup, which Aston Villa won. However, the following three finals of the competition saw the trophy won by teams who had never won a major trophy before.

The starting of the League Cup (Carabao Cup) provided the Football League with more negotiating power with the FA and European competitions. Hardaker said they could no longer participate in the European competition unless the League Cup champions were given a direct chance at events hosted by UEFA. As a result, UEFA allowed the League Cup winner a position in the European competitions, giving the team was in the First Division.

Competition format of English Carabao Cup

Starting each August, it features all teams from the English Football League and Premier League in a straight knock-out system across seven rounds. The semi-finals played over two legs format.

Premier League teams enter the competition in the second round, with teams that have qualified for the Champions League or Europa League joining in the third round. The Carabao Cup competition culminates in a final (one-legged) at Wembley Stadium, with the winner qualifying for the following season's Europa League.

Champions and Performances by Club in English Carabao Cup

A total of 23 clubs won the English Carabao Cup from its opening season. Liverpool is the most successful club in terms of winning the English Carabao Cup since its formation. Liverpool won the League Cup title mos nine times, while they were four times runners-up.

Manchester City is second in terms of league cup wins. They won the Carabao Cup eight times and played one more final in 1973-74 when they failed to win it. Aston Villa, Chelsea, and Manchester United won the competition five times each, and amazingly they all were four times runners-up.

Tottenham Hotspur (4), Nottingham Forest (4), Leicester City (3), Arsenal (2), Norwich City (2), Birmingham City (2), Wolverhampton Wanderers (2) won the League title. There are 11 teams that won the title only once. These are West Bromwich Albion, Middlesbrough, Queens Park Rangers, Leeds United, Leeds United, Luton Town, Sheffield Wednesday, Swindon Town, Oxford United, Blackburn Rovers, and Swansea City.

Four teams are participating in the League Cup who have only played in the final once and have become champions for the first time ever since. Liverpool (1981–1984) and Manchester City (2018–2021) won the competition record four times in a row.

Noteworthy Stats of English Carabao Cup

Sergio Agüero and Fernandinho won the English Carabao Cup the highest six times as players for Manchester City in 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021. Ian Rush scored the most 49 goals in the competition.

Clive Allen has scored record 12 goals in a season for Tottenham Hotspur in the 1986–87 season. Frankie Bunn kicked most six goals in a single match for Oldham Athletic to Scarborough on 25 October 1989.

West Ham United claimed the most significant 10*0 victory over Bury in the second leg of a match second round on 25 October 1983. Liverpool also did the same score against Fulham in a second-round first leg match on 23 September 1986.

Watch English Carabao Cup on TV and Stream

Focus below to find out which television channel and live streaming platforms broadcast all live matches of the English Carabao Cup on TV and stream. We hope you find these facts.

How to Watch English Carabao Cup on TV?

Sky Sports has official rights to broadcast all matches of the English Carabao Cup live on TV in the United Kingdom, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, El Salvador, Dominican Republic, and Scotland.

You can see English Carabao Cup on DAZN in Andorra, Canada, Switzerland, Spain, Italy, Austria, Germany, and San Marino. In contrast, beIN Sports telecast live matches of the Carabao Cup in Australia, New Zealand, France, the Pan Middle East, North Africa, and Turkey.

You are also able to watch it on Setanta Sports in Eastern Europe & Central Asia, ESPN in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean, Eleven Sports in Belgium, Poland, and Luxembourg.

How to Watch English Carabao Cup on Stream Online?

You can watch all matches of the English Carabao Cup live streaming through Fubo TV, Sling TV, Sky Sports, StarSport, Premier Sport 1, Live Soccer TV, Disney, Hotstar, Viacom 18, ESPN+, DAZN, Amazon Prime, and beIN Sports.

English Carabao Cup is one of the three top-level domestic football competitions in England, alongside the Premier League and FA Cup. Although the competition is one of the four domestic trophies attainable by English league clubs, it is of far lower prestige than the League Championship or the FA Cup. Enjoy the most fighting English football competition on TV and stream online.