• 22 Sun
  • 23 Today
  • 24 Tue
  • 25 Wed
  • 26 Thu
  • 27 Fri
  • 28 Sat
  • 29 Sun
  • 30 Mon
  • 31 Tue
  • 1 Wed
  • 2 Thu
  • 3 Fri
  • 4 Sat

English League Championship on tv and stream

English League Championship on tv and stream

The English League Championship or English Football League Championship is the top division of the English Football League system (EFL). And it is the second-highest major competition overall in English football after the Premier League.

The league competition is usually referred to as the Championship for short or the Sky Bet Championship due to sponsorship reasons. The league consists of 24 clubs, 22 from England and two from Wales.

History of English League Championship

The Championship was formed in 1892 as the Second Division with 12 teams. A rival English league named the Football Alliance ran from 1889 to 1892. After deciding to merge, the two leagues officially combined in 1892, and the Football League Second Division was established, mainly consisting of Football Alliance teams.

The foundation members of the league were: Ardwick (currently Manchester City), Crewe Alexandra, Darwen, Grimsby Town, Bootle, Burton Swifts, Crewe Alexandra, Darwen, Grimsby Town, Lincoln City, Small Heath (now Birmingham City), Northwich Victoria, Port Vale, Sheffield United, and Walsall.

Introduced for the 2004–05 season as the English Football League Championship, the competition was previously known as the Football League Second Division from 1892 to 1992. And it ran as the Football League First Division from 1992 to 2004.

The winning team of the Championship received the EFL Championship trophy, the same trophy given to English First Division champions until 1992. As in other levels of professional English football, Welsh teams can be part of the division, making it a cross-border league.

Competition format of English League Championship

The league comprises 24 teams throughout a season, which runs annually from August to the following May. Each team faces twice against the others in the competition, once at their own home ground and once at the opponent's ground resulting in each team playing in 46 matches in total.

According to the system of the Championship, each participating team gets three points for each win, one point for the draw but no points for the losing match. The highest-scoring team at the end of the tournament is the champion team, and they have the opportunity to participate in the Premier League along with the runners-up team. And the bottom three participating teams are demoted to Football League One.

The play-offs of the Football League Championship are a knock-out competition for the clubs finishing the season in third to the sixth position, with the winner earning the promotion to the Premier League.

The third-placed club plays against the sixth-placed club, and the fourth-placed club plays against the fifth-placed club in two-legged semi-finals in the play-offs. Each semi-final winner then competes in a single match to get the promotion to the Premier League and the Championship play-off trophy.

Champions and Performances by Club in English League Championship

A total of 46 teams has won the English Football League Championship from its inception since 1892. After winning this Championship 7 times, Leicester City and Manchester City are at the top of the list of winners. Norwich City, Sheffield Wednesday, and  ‍Sunderland won the Championship five-time each.

Birmingham City won the title in its first season, and the club also won it three more times. In contrast, Derby County, Leeds United, Liverpool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, and Wolverhampton Wanderers won it four-time each.

Seven teams have won the Championship three times each: Bolton Wanderers, Burnley, Ipswich Town, Nottingham Forest, Notts County, Preston North End, and West Bromwich Albion.

Noteworthy Stats of English League Championship

Barnsley has spent more seasons at the Second Division (Championship) of English football than any other club. On 3rd January 2011 became the first club to gain 1,000 wins in the Second Division of the English professional football league.

Watch English League Championship on TV and Stream

The English Football League Championship fans and supporters worldwide will once again be able to watch their favorite team compete live on television during the 2021/22 season.

How to Watch English League Championship on TV?

You can watch the Championship matches live on Sport Klub in Croatia and Montenegro, on NENT in Denmark, Estonia, and Finland, on DigiSport in the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

beIn Sports present the Championship games in France, Andorra, Monaco, Turkey, Irak, Iran, Bahrain, Jordan, man, Qatar, and Saudi Arab. Watcher also watches it on DAZN in Italy, Spain, Germany, Austria, and San Marino.

You can also enjoy live matches of the Championship through ESPN, Setanta Sports, Sportsmax, Arena Sports, Nova Sports, Ziggo Sports, Super Sports, Eleven Sports, Sky Sports, TDM, VTV, RTS, and Match TV in several countries in the world.

How to Watch English League Championship on Stream Online?

Fans and supporters are now able to watch their team in the English League Football Championship on the stream online through numerous famous sports-related streaming sites.

You can watch all games of the Championship's live streaming through Sport Klub, NENT, Sky Sports, Super Sports, ESPN, Fubo TV, Live Soccer TV, beIN Sports, DAZN, Premier Sports, ESPN+, Amazon Prime, Hotstar, Jio TV, and Sling TV.

If you face any problems getting access to the following streaming sites from your arena, you can use a VPN proxy server to avoid the issues. You can try Express VPN or Nord VPN. Mind it; those VPNs offer paid services.

English Football League Championship is the most popular professional football competition in England after the Premier League. The competition is also very much popular in the world. The spectator attendance of each competition match shows how popular this tournament is.

The Championship offers better entertainment and sporting value than any other competition. Every season of the competition provides more thrilling competitiveness with numerous English strong teams.