Maltese Premier League

Maltese Premier League

Maltese Premier League on tv and stream

The Maltese Premier League, also known as BOV Premier League due to sponsorship reasons with Bank of Valletta, is the top-flight of professional football in Malta.

Handled by the Malta Football Association, the Premier League is contested by 16 clubs and operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Challenge League.

No matches found!

History of Maltese Premier League

Football came to these Islands with the British in the early 1900s. Founded in 1900, the Malta Football Association decided to start a professional football competition in these Islands. As a result, the Maltese Premier League took place in its first season in 1909 as the First Division.

The League has been playing as the First Division since 1980 before changing its format and names to its current name Maltese Premier League. Sliema Wanderers and Floriana have dominated the League most of the period.

Floriana won the first Maltese championship in the 1909-1910 season. The League regularly changed in numbers as clubs changed administrators, dropped out of the competition, and new teams re-entered. Until 1939-1940, this first League remained the only League in Maltese football and was called the Maltese division one.

The Maltese Premier League ranks 46th out of 55 members in the UEFA coefficient based on European competitions performances as of July 2021. ─Žamrun is the current champion of the League 2020-21 season.

Competition format of Maltese Premier League

The Maltese Premier League consists of one single round. Every team plays each opponent twice, once at home and once at away (in actuality, the definition of home and away is arbitrary as most of the teams do not have their grounds), for a total of 26 games.

Every team earns 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw and zero points for losing games. The club that makes the most points is crowned as champion. If two teams are leveled in the same points (for any position), no penalty shootout will play a decider game. If three or more teams are leveled in the same points (for any position), there will be checked by head-to-head stats, and the best two teams will play a determiner match.

A play-off match is played to determine the winner to determine the champion or qualification to UEFA competitions. The two lowest-ranked teams are relegated into the Challenge League. The 12th-placed team plays a play-off match against the 3rd-placed team from the First Division, with the winner either keeping their position or earning promotion to the top-tier League.

Champions and Performances by Club in Maltese Premier League

Ten clubs have won the top division title of Malta from its inception. With 26 titles and 55 contributions in the final, Sliema Wanderers became the most successful Maltese Premier League club.

Floriana also played the second maximum 38 times in the top-tier final and became successful 26 times. Valletta reached the top-flight final 43 times, but in terms of title-winning, it is in the third position with 25 league titles.

Hibernians have played League final 27 times, where the club won the honor 12 times. The current champion, ─Žamrun Spartans, has won it a total of eight times, where they reached the final 11 more times, but cannot make all success.

Birkirkara (four times), Rabat Ajax (two times), St. George's (one time), Marsaxlokk (one time), and The King's Own Malta Regiment (one time), has won the top division football competition of Malta football league system.

Noteworthy Stats of Maltese Premier League

Mario Muscat has played the most 501 matches in the League, followed by Brian Said (425 appearances) and Stefan Sultana (424 appearances).

According to the information, A. Effiong scored the highest 136 goals in 348 league appearances, when he has played for Sirens FC, Balzan FC, Qormi FC, Gzira United, Marasaxlokk FC, and Hamrun Spartans.

Watch Maltese Premier League on TV and Stream

We found out and listed the official and legal television broadcaster channels of the Maltese Premier League and some best streaming platforms that broadcast exclusive and full media coverage on TV and stream.

How to Watch Maltese Premier League on TV?

Melita Sports is a sports broadcaster media in Malta offering extensive and exclusive sporting live programming. You can watch all matches live streaming of the Maltese Premier League on TV through Melita Sports in Malta.

You can watch the Maltese Premier League through Live Soccer TV, BT Sports, Sky Sports, beIn Sports in several countries worldwide.

How to Watch Maltese Premier League on Stream Online?

You can now easily watch all matches, including pre-practice sessions, lineup, injury news, live games, and highlights of Maltese Premier League on live stream online.

Reportedly, Melita Sports, Live Soccer TV, Malta FA Live, Hotstar, BT Sports, beIn Sports, DAZN, Amazon, Sling TV, Live Football TV, and Fubo TV.

There are many free and official live streams available to watch the Maltese Premier League, but many of them are illegal or not accessible in several countries. So if you want to watch those streaming sites in your region or country, you can try proxy servers like Express VPN NORD VPN.

Though there are few options available to watch the Maltese Premier League, we tried to give you the legal rights holder TV channels and streaming sites to watch and enjoy all exciting matches of the Maltese Premier League on TV and Stream.

People Also Search

maltese premier league on tv

maltese premier league professional

maltese premier league stream

maltese premier league salary

maltese premier league table

maltese premier league teams

maltese premier league salaries

maltese premier league fixtures

is the maltese premier league professional

maltese premier league champions

maltese premier league champions league

maltese premier league fifa soccer leagues

maltese premier league logo

maltese premier league result

maltese premier league top scorers

valletta fc maltese premier league