English League One

English League One

English League One on tv and stream

The English League One is commonly known as English Football League One or often referred to as League One for short. Sky Bet League One is the current official name of the competition for sponsorship purposes.

From 2004 to 2016, it was known as the Football League One. The professional football competition is the second-top division of English Football and the third tier overall in the English football league system.

No matches found!

History of English League One

The first appearance of this competition in English football was in 1920 as Division 3, which continued till the following year and continued in English football as a Division 3 North / South event till 1956.

From 1958 to 1992, the competition continued as the third division of the North or South No. Overall English Football League system, but for the first time since 1992, the league became the second division and continued as Division Two until 2004.

Due to the reforming and rebranding of the English football league system, the beginning of a new era in the Premier League, and various other reasons, this competition continued with the name of English Football League One from 2004 to 2016.

League One was introduced for the 2004–05 edition. The competition was previously known briefly as the Football League Second Division and for much longer, before the arrival of the Premier League, as the Football League Third Division.

Currently, Gillingham holds the longest tenure in League One, last being out of the event in the 2012–13 season. There are currently seven former Premier League teams playing in League One, namely Sheffield Wednesday (1992–2000), Charlton Athletic (1998–99 and 2000–07), Ipswich Town (1992–95 and 2000–02), Portsmouth (2003–10), Wigan Athletic (2005–13), Bolton Wanderers (1995–96, 1997–98 and 2001–12), and Sunderland (1996–97, 1999–2003, 2005–06 and 2007–17).

Competition Format of English League One

There are 24 teams in League One. Each team meets every other team twice (once at home ground and once away round). Three points are given for a victory, one for a draw, and none for a loss. At the end of the edition, a table of the final League standings is declared based on the following benchmark in this order: points earned, goal difference, goals scored, an aggregate of the results betwixt two or more teams (ranked using the last three option) and, finally, a series of one or more playoff games.

Together with the winner of the playoff (held between the teams which finished in 3rd–6th position), the top two teams got the promotion to enter EFL Championship. And the four bottom teams went down to League Two.

Champions and Performances by Club in English League One

Since the reforming into League One in 2004, 73 clubs have spent at least one season in the division, including seven of the 20 clubs in the 2021-22 Premier League. Walsall, Oldham Athletic, and MK Dons have spent 14 seasons in League One.

Rotherham has had the maximum number of separate spells in League One with five. There have been 15 different Champion clubs of League One, with Luton Town and Wigan Athletic have won the division twice.

Noteworthy Stats English League One

The English League One saw the highest attendance in a match between Sheffield Wednesday and Bristol City, with a record of 28,798 spectators. In the current version of the competition, Jordan Rhodes holds the highest goal scoring record in a season with 36 goals, which he kicked for Huddersfield Town in the 2011-12 season.

Watch English League One on TV and Stream

If you want to watch English League One on TV and Stream, you must know how and which television networks or digital platforms provide the event's live streaming services of the event. We tried to tell you the important facts via this article.

How to Watch English League One on TV?

You can watch League One games in England, Wales, Ireland, and Scotland via Sky Sports. Sport Klub broadcasts live League One matches in the Balkans, Bosnia, and Herzegovina. Eleven Sports televise live matches in Belgium, Poland, and Portugal.

You can watch live English League One matches in Australia, Turkey, France, Monaco, Pan Middle East, and North Africa through beIN Sports. sportdigital.tv telecasts one or two matches per week. One match is live and free every week on Laola1 (Germany and Austria only). Other League One matches are also available on DAZN and Sport1.

You can also see it on Diema Sport in Bulgaria, Sports Max in the Caribbean, Digi Sport in the Czech Republic, Setanta Sports in Georgia, and Colors Infinity in the Indian sub-continent. You can watch League One on RTV (Indonesia), J Sports (Japan), Stöð 2 Sport (Iceland), Digi Sport (Hungary), SBS Sports (South Korea), and TDM (Macau).

How to Watch English League One on Stream Online?

Betfair and Bet365 both broadcast live matches internationally. Betfair indicates that the territories they can stream competition matches vary from sport to sport. Bet365 indicates that some matches are not permitted to stream within the host country.

Besides those networks, you can watch the English League One live streaming through BT Sports, Bing Sports, Sky Sports, DAZN, Viacom 18, Voot, Sling TV, SuperSports, Premier Sport 1, beIN Sports, and Fubo TV.

The League One competition ranks above League Two in the EFL system and after the Championship. In this league one, the Championship and even some teams from the Premier League come to play.

League One has long played a significant role in the English football league system, improving the quality of football at all domestic levels in England and enhancing teams' skills at the lower level. And many competitive matches are gifting the spectators.